





May 25, 2021

Board of Directors
Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District

RE: Agenda Item 7F - Quick Build Transit Projects

Directors,

East Bay Transit Riders Union, Transport Oakland and SPUR write to express support for the dedication of staff time for identification, development, coordination, and prioritization of quick-build transit projects. Quick-builds have the potential to significantly improve bus service at relatively little cost, so AC Transit should have capacity to do them continuously, even during lean years. Moreover, a CEQA exemption for certain bus priority infrastructure is available through December 31, 2022 via SB288 (Wiener, 2020). We commend the AC Transit Board and staff for being proactive in developing this proposal.

In developing staff scope of work for quick-build transit projects, we ask that AC Transit consider the following:

- Work collaboratively with local departments of transportation, public works departments, and bicycle and pedestrian advocacy organizations to incorporate bikeand pedestrian-friendly design elements (such as protected intersections and bus boarding islands separated from the sidewalk by a bike lane) into quick-build transit designs and delivery.
- Incorporate accessible outreach and communication (especially for visually-impaired people) in the Accessibility Advisory Committee review of quick-build projects to facilitate adequate review and input for proposed quick-build transit projects.
- Routinely document factors that cause delay or reduce the scope of bus efficiency proposals. There is strong interest in understanding such dynamics in current regional discussions about how to accelerate transit priority projects.
- Include a racial equity lens in identifying and prioritizing quick-build projects.
- In recommendations, address all circumstances that cause bus delays, including problematic parking design or inadequate enforcement.

We look forward to working with AC Transit to develop a robust project pipeline of quick-build transit projects for the benefit of East Bay bus riders.

Sincerely,

Derek Sagehorn

Chair, East Bay Transit Riders Union

Erin McMillan Board President, Transport Oakland

Ronak Davé Okoye Oakland Director, SPUR

Dave Campbell Advocacy Director, Bike East Bay