ALAMEDA-CONTRA COSTA TRANSIT DISTRICT



STAFF REPORT

MEETING DATE: 5/14/2025 **Staff Report No.** 25-278

TO: AC Transit Board of Directors

FROM: Linda A. Nemeroff, District Secretary
SUBJECT: Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee

ACTION ITEM

RECOMMENDED ACTION(S):

Consider adoption of Resolution No. 25-020 re-appointing Matt Williams, Stephen Hicks and Donna Linton to a three-year term on the Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee, effective September 1, 2025; and authorize the District Secretary to conduct a recruitment to fill one vacancy on the Committee.

STRATEGIC IMPORTANCE:

Goal - Strong Public and Policymaker Support Initiative - Financial Efficiency and Revenue Maximization

The Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee was first established as the Measure AA Oversight Committee in 2003 by the District's Board of Directors. Although the Committee's name has changed over time, its primary responsibility is to review the most recent fiscal year end annual audit to determine whether funds generated by District's parcel tax measures have been expended in accordance with the intentions of the voters. In the interest of transparency, the Committee also provides a report of its findings (via a resolution) to the Board of Directors on an annual basis and its meetings are open to the public.

BUDGETARY/FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no budgetary/fiscal impact associated with this report.

BACKGROUND/RATIONALE:

The Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee is composed of seven community representatives who provide independent oversight of approximately \$30 million in Measure VV/C1 parcel tax proceeds collected by the District in Special Transit Service District 1, which is comprised of the entire District except the Cities of Fremont and Newark. The Committee generally meets once per year, and these are non-paid, volunteer positions. The terms for members Williams, Hicks and Linton will expire on August 31, 2025, and all seeking reappointment to serve an additional three-year term. All are members of the Committee in good standing who contribute significant knowledge of fiscal management and community involvement.

In addition, the District Secretary's Office was informed that Beverly Johnson, the last original member of the

Committee, would not seek reappointment. The District Secretary seeks authorization to conduct a formal recruitment to fill the vacancy beginning on May 15th with a closing date of June 30th. The recruitment notice and a link to the electronic application will be posted on the District's website and distributed twice via eNews to approximately 17,000 subscribers. Notice will also be given to local government agencies, chambers of commerce, public libraries, local chapters of the League of Women Voters and posted on social media. As a requirement of the recruitment, prospective applicants must live in Special District 1 and submit 1) a letter of interest; 2) application; and 3) resume.

Staff supports and recommends the adoption of Resolution No. 25-020 to reappoint Matt Williams, Stephen Hicks and Donna Linton and requests authorization to commence a recruitment to fill one vacancy on the Committee.

ADVANTAGES/DISADVANTAGES:

The advantage of reappointing the existing members to the Committee is their knowledge, commitment, and service to the benefit of the taxpayers in Special District 1, which also supplements the diversity of thought given that there are three members of the Committee that are fairly new.

No disadvantages have been identified.

ALTERNATIVES ANALYSIS:

Staff considered honoring the members' term expiration on August 31st and conducting a recruitment to fill four vacancies, but given the traditionally low number in responsive applicants from previous efforts, the expertise required, and the existing member's interest to serve the community, staff felt that the reappointment of the existing members was appropriate at this time.

PRIOR RELEVANT BOARD ACTION/POLICIES:

Resolution No. 16-024 To Extend the Term of an Existing Parcel Tax Measure
Resolution No. 18-034 Appointing New Members and Implementing Staggered Three-Year Terms

ATTACHMENTS:

- 1. Resolution No. 25-0204
- 2. Application Form

Prepared by:

Jelena Harada, Assistant District Secretary

Approved/Reviewed by:

Linda A. Nemeroff, Board Administrative Officer/District Secretary Aimee L. Steele, General Counsel/Chief Legal Officer Chris Andrichak, Chief Financial Officer