

ALAMEDA-CONTRA COSTA TRANSIT DISTRICT

MINUTES

Special Meeting of the Board of Directors

VIRTUAL MEETING

The members of the Board will participate from remote locations. See page 2 of the agenda for public participation instructions.

Friday, December 4, 2020 at 12:30 PM

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS
ELSA ORTIZ, PRESIDENT (WARD 3)
JOEL YOUNG, VICE PRESIDENT (AT-LARGE)
JOVANKA BECKLES (WARD 1)
JEAN WALSH (WARD 2)
MARK WILLIAMS (WARD 4)
DIANE SHAW (WARD 5)
H. E. CHRISTIAN PEEPLES (AT-LARGE)

BOARD OFFICERS
MICHAEL A. HURSH, GENERAL MANAGER
JILL A. SPRAGUE, GENERAL COUNSEL
LINDA A. NEMEROFF, DISTRICT SECRETARY

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District Board of Directors held a special virtual meeting on Friday, December 4, 2020.

Members of the Board participated via video conference from off-site locations in accordance with the statewide shelter in place order issued on March 16, 2020.

President Ortiz called the Board of Directors meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Directors-elect Jovanka Beckles and Jean Walsh were in attendance, but had yet to take the Oath of Office.

Present: Ortiz, Peeples, Williams, Shaw

Absent: Young

3. REGULAR CALENDAR

3.A. Consider receiving the Certificates of Election Results and the Official
Canvas for Director At-Large H. E. Christian Peeples, and the newly
elected Ward 1 and Ward 2 Directors Jovanka Beckles and Jean Walsh,
respectively.

District Secretary Linda Nemeroff presented the staff report.

MOTION: PEEPLES/WILLIAMS to receive the Certificates of Election Results and the Official Canvas for Director At-Large H. E. Christian Peeples, and the newly elected Ward 1 and Ward 2 Directors Jovanka Beckles and Jean Walsh, respectively. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Ortiz, Peeples, Williams, Shaw

Absent: Young

4 ADMINISTRATION OF THE OATH OF OFFICE

4.A. Administration of the Oath of Office to re-elected and newly elected members of the AC Transit Board of Directors by Division 2 Operators Marcus Walker and Claudia Waters and Division 6 Operator Ruthie Mitchell:

20-482

- · H. E. Christian Peeples, At-Large
- Jovanka Beckles, Ward 1
- Jean Walsh, Ward 2

The Oaths of Office were administered by three of the District's most tenured bus operators: Marcus Walker (Division 2), Claudia Waters (Division 2) and Ruthie Mitchell

(Division 6).

Ward 1 Director Jovanka Beckles thanked friends, supporters and family members for attending the ceremony and for their support during the campaign as well as the labor and local organizations for their endorsement and support throughout the campaign. Director Beckles committed to serve the groups that rely on public transit the most, to stop service cuts, and promote an environmentally friendly bus system.

Ward 2 Director Jean Walsh thanked family and friends who supported her campaign from the beginning as well as those who campaigned on her behalf. Also thanked were elected officials for their time, advice and endorsement as well as a coalition of progressive, environmental, labor, democratic clubs, and the advocacy community for their support. Director Walsh committed to create a transit system that is fast, frequent, reliable, affordable, equitable and easy to use.

Members of the Board and Board Officers congratulated Director Peeples on his re-election and welcomed Directors Beckles and Walsh to the Board.

Public Comment:

Yvonne Williams, President of ATU Local 192, congratulated Director Peeples on his re-election and the new Board members on their election to the Board. Director Beckles was thanked for fostering a relationship with labor and for understanding their role at the District and the public they serve. The remainder of the Board and Board Officers were thanked for their service to the District.

Cheryl Davila, former Berkeley City Council member, congratulated Director Beckles on her election to the Board and for her support over the years while she was on the Berkeley City Council. Director Peeples was also thanked for his support of the Climate Emergency Mobilization Task Force. Director Walsh was also congratulated, and the bus operators were thanked for their service.

Ruscal Cayangyang congratulated Director Beckles and encouraged the Board to become more involved with the Climate Emergency Mobilization Task Force.

Janet Abelson thanked AC Transit and the bus operators for continuing to provide bus service during the pandemic. She also thanked Director Peeples for his service and congratulated the two newly elected members of the Board.

5. BOARD/STAFF COMMENTS

(Government Code Section 54954.2)

The General Manager, General Counsel and District Secretary congratulated and extended their support to the new members of the Board. Bus Operators Marcus Walker, Claudia Waters, and Ruthie Mitchell were commended for their service and thanked for their participation in the ceremony.

6. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 1:07 p.m.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held on December 9, 2020.

Minutes

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Linda A. Nemeroff **District Secretary**