

ALAMEDA-CONTRA COSTA TRANSIT DISTRICT

MINUTES

AC Transit Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee VIRTUAL MEETING

> Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 8:30 AM Phone (669) 900 6833 Webinar ID: 999 7826 3559

MEMBERS OF THE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE JANET ABELSON BEVERLY JOHNSON MICHAEL GREGORY PAT PETERSEN LIZ BRISSON IGOR TREGUB MATT WILLIAMS

DISTRICT OFFICERS MICHAEL A. HURSH, GENERAL MANAGER JILL A. SPRAGUE, GENERAL COUNSEL LINDA A. NEMEROFF, DISTRICT SECRETARY CLAUDIA L. ALLEN

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Alameda-Contra Costa Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee held its annual meeting on Thursday, November 12, 2020.

Members of the Committee participated via video conference from off-site locations in accordance with the statewide shelter in place order issued on March 16, 2020.

The meeting was called to order at 8:38 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Present Abelson, Johnson, Gregory, Williams, Brisson, Petersen, Tregub

3. SELECTION OF CHAIR

Assistant District Secretary Jelena Harada called for nominations for Chair. Member Petersen nominated Member Abelson which was seconded by Member Tregub. No other nominations were offered.

MOTION: PETERSEN/TREGUB to appoint Janet Abelson to serve as the Chair of the Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Petersen, Tregub, Johnson, Gregory, Brisson, Williams, Abelson

4. **PUBLIC COMMENT (For items not on the agenda. Three minutes per speaker.)**

Member Matt Williams commented that the ridership in Special District 2 has been traditionally low and encouraged staff to investigate ways to increase the ridership and locate funding for the service. He further requested that staff communicate with the Metropolitan Transportation Commission about the effort.

5. CONSENT CALENDAR

5.A. Consider approving the minutes of the Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee meeting of November 12, 2019.

MOTION: TREGUB/WILLIAMS to approve the minutes of the Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee meeting of November 12, 2019. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Abelson, Johnson, Gregory, Petersen, Tregub, Williams

Abstained: Brisson

6. DISCUSSION ITEM(S)

6.A. Consider review and approval of the Measure VV/C1 Financial Statement and the adoption of Resolution No. 20-001 determining

<u>20-390</u>

20-389

that the Measure VV/C1 funds collected during the 2019-20 Fiscal Year have been appropriated and expended in Special Transit Service District No. 1 for operation and maintenance activities.

- History of the District 1 - District 2 Allocation Methodology;

- Measure VV/C1 Agreed Upon Procedure, including an Hours and Miles Comparison for District 1/District 2;

- AC Transit Audited Financial Statements (includes the D1/D2 Report and Supplemental Schedule).

Chief Financial Officer Claudia Allen presented information on the allocation methodology and the allocation of revenue, subsidies and expenses. Scott Nickerson, an independent external auditor with Crow LLC, gave a review of the Measure VV/C1 agreed-upon procedures applicable to the audit. Director of Service Development and Planning Robert del Rosario addressed how service hours and service miles are determined and allocated in each of the two special districts.

Chair Abelson asked if there were reportable impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic for the committee's consideration. Chief Financial Officer Claudia Allen advised that the impact of the pandemic will show on the FY 2020-21 revenue and service report next year. She added that the District received CARES Act funds for the current fiscal year providing for a balanced budget and steady level of service.

General Manager Michael Hursh and staff briefly addressed questions from Committee members about revenue projections and service levels during the pandemic.

MOTION: TREGUB/WILLIAMS to approve of the Measure VV/C1 Financial Statement and the adoption of Resolution No. 20-001 determining that the Measure VV/C1 funds collected during the 2019-20 Fiscal Year have been appropriated and expended in Special Transit Service District No. 1 for operation and maintenance activities. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Abelson, Brisson, Johnson, Gregory, Petersen, Tregub, Williams

6.B. SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION PACKET (for reference only)

<u>20-387</u>

The Supplemental Information Packet was not under consideration by the Committee and is only intended to provide relevant background information.

7. COMMITTEE/STAFF COMMENTS

There were no comments offered.

8. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at

9:22 AM.

Respectfully submitted, /s/ Jelena Harada Assistant District Secretary