AC Transit Logo
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
Report ID: 22-347a   
Type: Regular - Board Administrative Matters
Meeting Body: Board of Directors - Regular Meeting
Meeting Date: 8/10/2022 Final action: 8/10/2022
Recommended Action: Consider adoption of Resolution No. 22-031 appointing a new member to a three-year term on the Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee commencing on September 1, 2022.
Attachments: 1. STAFF REPORT, 2. Att.1. Resolution 22-031 PTOC Appointment, 3. Att.2. Application from Stephen Hicks, 4. Att.3. PTOC Flyer/Application 2022, 5. Master Minute Order

TO:                     AC Transit Board of Directors                                          

FROM:                                             Linda A. Nemeroff, District Secretary

SUBJECT:                     Appointment to the Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee                     







Consider adoption of Resolution No. 22-031 appointing a new member to a three-year term on the Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee commencing on September 1, 2022.





Goal - Strong Public and Policymaker Support

Initiative - Financial Efficiency and Revenue Maximization


The Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee was first established as the Measure AA Oversight Committee in 2003 by the District’s Board of Directors. Although the Committee’s name has changed over time, its primary responsibility is to review the most recent fiscal year end annual audit to determine whether funds generated by District’s parcel tax measures have been expended in accordance with the intentions of the voters. In the interest of transparency, the Committee also provides a report of its findings to the Board of Directors on an annual basis and its meetings are open to the public.




There is no budgetary/fiscal impact associated with this report.




The Parcel Tax Fiscal Oversight Committee is composed of seven community representatives who provide independent oversight of approximately $30 million in Measure VV/C1 parcel tax proceeds collected by the District in Special Transit Service District 1, which is comprised of the entire District except the Cities of Fremont and Newark. With the resignation of Michael Gregory, a vacancy exists on the Committee. This is a non-paid, volunteer position.


A formal recruitment to fill the vacancy began on June 15th and closed on July 15th. The recruitment notice and application were posted on the District’s website and distributed twice via eNews subscription to approximately 8,700 subscribers including chambers of commerce and public libraries. The recruitment was advertised on social media (Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn) and emailed to local chapters of the League of Women Voters. As a requirement of the recruitment, prospective applicants were required to submit 1) a letter of interest; 2) application; and 3) resume. Applicants were also required to live in Special District 1.


The recruitment resulted in one application from Stephen Hicks which is provided as Attachment 2.  Given Mr. Hicks’ background in finance, staff supports and recommends the adoption of Resolution No. 22-031 to appoint Stephen Hicks to the Committee for a three-year term commencing on September 1, 2022.




The recommended applicant brings knowledge of financial matters relevant to the charge of the Committee and valuable to the voters of Special District 1.


No disadvantages have been identified.




Staff considered extending the recruitment deadline to further solicit applicants but felt that recommending the applicant was the appropriate approach given their interest to serve the community and skills.




Resolution No. 16-024 To Extend the Term of an Existing Parcel Tax Measure

Resolution No. 18-034 Appointing New Members and Implementing Staggered Three-Year Terms

Staff Report 22-347




1.                     Resolution No. 22-031

2.                     Application from Stephen Hicks

3.                     Recruitment Flyer


Prepared by:

Jelena Harada, Assistant District Secretary


Approved/Reviewed by:

Linda A. Nemeroff, District Secretary

Jill A. Sprague, General Counsel

Chris Andrichak, Chief Financial Officer